My (French) Scout Camp: Part 1

Last weekend I went on a french scout camp.  This was a new experience for me as, before this, I had only been on English scout camps.  Before I went, I received two bits of bad news.  First and (in my opinion) most importantly my best friend Arthur couldn’t come on camp because he had to study for some very important exams he had coming up.  And second, my other friend Aymeric couldn’t come either.  But there was to much good news to worry about the bad news. Here are just a few pieces of good news I received before I even arrived at camp:

  • My other friends at scouts Gabriel and Christopher were coming
  • It was going to be based on video games which is a topic I really like because I don’t have any (Mum’s fault)
  • I heard it was a chance to make some new friends (which I found was true)

When I arrived I found out it was going to just be me and Gabs in a tent together I was really excited because the tents were meant for four Scouts so me and Gabs had all the space we could ever hope for.  And even better we were really experienced at putting up tents so we had our tent up in about ten or fifteen minutes.

We were sorted into teams.  I was put with Gabriel in team Mario (I wanted to be in Minecraft but their result changed my mind for me).

The first activity was based on Call of Duty.  We were in pairs and in defense or attack.  That was where I met my two new friends Alexin and Juliette.  Me and Gabs got them out of danger from an enemy defender (they were on the Mario team too).  It was a close call because our hands were tied together.  When we were in defense, one of us was blindfolded and the other was gagged so we had to find a solution for that problem.  For me and Gabs, the gagged one stood behind the the blindfolded one with their hands on the other’s shoulders and turned the blindfolded one to face the attackers so the only thing the other person had to do was shout SSSSSTTTTTOOOOOPPPPP!! VERY LOUDLY

Dinner was spaghetti bolognse and for dessert a chocolate biscuit and a raspberry yogurt which was disgusting (but the biscuit was great).  The spaghetti was also great.

That evening, I taught the French scouts Kumbaya and Ging Gang Goolie with Christopher on the guitar and Alex on the drums which were both popular with the French scouts (the songs I mean, not Alex and Christopher).  Then after each “campfire” they had a mass which went on for a very long time and we had to listen to this boring guy drone on and on and on about how we should be good people and respect God.

The next morning we had a small breakfast of baguette with either strawberry or apricot jam on top so I was very hungry for the rest of the day.

The first game that day was based on Minecraft and in my opinion was the best game of  the entire weekend for two reasons: firstly because it was so much like the real thing (and all my friends will know that I really like Minecraft) and secondly because it required a huge amount of teamwork.  There were four teams (the ones like Mario) and one big one which represented the mob army (like creepers, zombies, spiders and endermen).

Leave a Reply

