Centenary Camp in France

The Centenary Camp happened a few months ago now but I can still remember it as though it was yesterday!!  It was so brilliant!!!  When I finished school on the day that camp started, I was really excited about it all.  I was going with my friends, Ewan and his brother Joseph, because Mum is a leader and she went early to help set up.  After watching a bit of Pink Panther in Ewan’s car we arrived.

While we were there we did all kinds of stuff including:

  • orienteering
  • backwards cooking
  • cooking
  • putting up tents
  • taking down tents
  • hiking
  • den building (me, Gabriel and Aymeric added this one) 

The drive wasn’t very long.  When I arrived I thought that the campsite was more of a museum because there was a big chateau at the gate.  But behind all that was a really big campsite with a big grassy area and a huge amount of forest.  I loved it.  It was a perfect balance between open space and forest.  There was a tree-house and a “haunted house” and a big thunderstorm while we were out orienteering (annoying) and when we got back our coats were soaking.  That was my least favorite part.  My favorite part was when me Aymeric and Gabriel built a den.  It was so good, you could sleep in it if it hadn’t got broken.

Leave a Reply

